Woodland revelations

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Outsides bleached by the sun,

insides shattered and exposed, firey ochre and amber,

limbs strewn on the ground

lifeless and sharp

debris from a storm long ago

and from a harsh axe.

My view is dominated immediately infront of me

by the dead wood and bare ground.

Just as my mind and heart

can focus on what’s lost

and what I don’t yet have.

But now

I sink my weight into the solidness

of the tree at my back

and breathe.

I look to my side

to see intricate layers of patterned bark

and a tiny fragile ant

scaling the impossible landscape.

I lift my eyes

to watch an agile, fearless squirrel

scamper in high branches.

Lift my eyes further

to the towering mountain

above the canopy.

Dramatic craggy surfaces of majestic proportion.

Hurrying clouds skimming it’s summits.

Bright sun on the far slopes.

In the same way

I’m reminded to notice the good

that’s not always in my immediate sight,

to lift my eyes

to notice the blessings

of what I do have.

In this moment.

Being present to gratitude.

Rich blessings.

Generosity and kindness

of my Heavenly Father

in a myriad of ways

that sometimes escape my immediate line of vision

but take intention to see and give thanks.

I’ve been learning it’s good and right

to acknowledge the dead wood and the bare ground,

to be honest and vulnerable with ourselves, God and others.

To grieve loss.

But ultimately not to let it dominate the view

and distract from the mountain.

Gratitude is always an option

even in the midst of loss.

Copyright Hilary Murdoch 2015

 

 

Leave a Reply

