In between people

Standard
 IMG_3712
Photograph Copyright © Hilary Murdoch 2014
Following the post of my poem ‘In the Air’ some wise friends of mine commented that being ‘in-between’ is “probably what a lot of life is going to look like”, that “it seems like that is the way of Jesus”. That got me thinking. Recently I have read a few passages in the bible about that theme and have felt God whispering to me about it. While I was in the beautiful prayer room at La Motte Wine Estate (if you are in Cape Town do visit it, if you haven’t already) I was reading the passage below from Hebrews and then weeks later I read the passage below from John and its been buzzing around in my thoughts.
I’m like the wind*
He says.
No one knows where I’m from
or where I’m going
and neither do I really.
But it’s reassuring
that He says
it’s the same
for all who belong to Him
and are filled with His breath.
What’s it like to be like wind?
Surely wind can’t hold anything
can’t cling to anything
or any place.
the same choice remains
for the wind-like followers.
The in between people
The sojourners
The pilgrims from a long line of pilgrims
Abraham to Joseph, Moses to Ruth, Mary to Jesus himself.
Always passing through.
Even when I find a place, a precious place
where I feel at home
(or even a few)
even there
I am only ever a temporary resident.
For I’ll always be a stranger
a visitor
on this earth.
I am not of this world
just as the one I follow is not.
Our home
our true home
for which our heart longs
is more beautiful
more magnificent
than all we could imagine.
Our heavenly home
is where we’ll return to
and finally
feel fully ourselves
and fully at home
forever.
So no wonder I feel like a wanderer.
A stranger.
I must hold lightly
I’m only passing through.
(Having said all that, I do feel at home in Cape Town and am planning to come back!!)
Copyright 2014 © Hilary Murdoch. All rights reserved.
*No reference to Dirty Dancing or Patrick Swazye intended 😉
“The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” (John 3:8)
 –
“All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth…as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God; for He has prepared a city for them.” (Hebrews 11:13-16)
 –
“They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.” – Jesus (John 17:16)
 –
“For our citizenship is in heaven, from which also we eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ” (Philippians 3:20)
This song has also been a real blessing to me recently (click to open the video).
In the process,
in the waiting,
you’re making melodies over me.
Your presence
is the promise,
for I am a pilgrim on a journey.
One response »

  1. Pingback: In between people… Part 2 | Mother City Murmurs

Leave a Reply

