Feeling good

Standard

IMG_5067

© Hilary Murdoch 2014

 

My mum and I used to turn this song up full blast, sing loudly and dance like crazy things around the kitchen. It was at a time when both of us hadn’t been feeling so good for a long time but were both breaking into a new season, a season of ‘feeling good’ inside again. It’s a precious memory for me.

I haven’t been ‘feeling good’ for some time now but just this week I’ve felt a new joy, peace and lightness. I actually don’t know what’s shifted but I feel myself again, for the first time in quite a while. And this song is again the sound track for a new season of regaining this space. I painted the picture above last week, before the cloud lifted – maybe it was a plea from inside, maybe it was a premonition of what was to come. Whatever it was, I’m grateful.

 

Birds flying high
You know how I feel
Sun in the sky
You know how I feel
Breeze driftin’ on by
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good
I’m feeling good

Fish in the sea
You know how I feel
River running free
You know how I feel
Blossom on a tree
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good

Dragonfly out in the sun

you know what I mean, don’t you know
Butterflies all havin’ fun

you know what I mean
Sleep in peace when day is done
That’s what I mean
And this old world is a new world
And a bold world
For me

For me

Stars when you shine
You know how I feel
Scent of the pine
You know how I feel
Oh freedom is mine
And I know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life

It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life

It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
It’s a new life
For me

And I’m feeling good

I’m feeling good
I feel so good
I feel so good

Original song lyrics by Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse

Painting Copyright © Hilary Murdoch 2014. All rights reserved.

One response »

Leave a Reply

