I will be still

Standard


IMG_2678

Photo: © Hilary Murdoch 2013
 

I’ve been listening to ‘I will be still’ by Young Oceans on repeat. I need to hear it. Have a listen.

It got me thinking about that phrase, so I wrote a poem about it.

I

it starts with me

I will

an intentional choice

I will be

presence, being not doing

I will be still

stopping – stillness in my body

trust – stillness in my emotions, my soul

peace – stillness in my spirit

and know

deep heart knowing

experiential knowing

assurance

certainty

You are God.

You are “I am”

You are who you are

Not who I think you are or want you to be

But who you are

Your presence, being you

Healer, Provider, Shepherd, Peace

The one who sees,

The one who is present.

Who you are to me now

Who you are, not what you will do

A deep knowing and experience of that ‘who’

oozes in gently

into my body, my soul, my spirit

as I

choose

to be

still.

Jehovah-Shammah Ezekiel 48:35  “The Lord who is present”

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God.”

 

All poems and original writing on this blog are Copyright © Hilary Murdoch 2014
6 responses »

  1. Wow lovely one. I felt God is saying that too me Be Still and Know I am God!!! So your poem is a huge blessing and perhaps a prophetic one.

    Hope God restores you too in a place of peace, if that’s what you need.

    Love and hugs Tash x

  2. Pingback: How to wait [The Grace of Waiting 4] | Mother City Murmurs

Leave a Reply

