Can it be so?

Standard

il_570xN.334282127

Photo credit: Stunning metal wall art by thewordwithin on Etsy

Can it be so?

It doesn’t seem right

that up is down

and down is up,

that being at the bottom is being at the top

and being at the top is being at the bottom.

That the first shall be last

and the last shall be first.

That to lead you must serve

and that if you want to be great

you must be the least,

considering others better than yourself.

Insecure leaders need a title, position,

significance through what they achieve.

Secure leaders pick up a towel and serve

investing in others to make them great.

What a profound challenge,

so counter to all the world says.

It blows right out of the water

all desire for recognition

and advancement.

Smashes any hint of pride.

It’s not a simple request.

It’s radical.

Extreme.

And no one gives a more radical example than He does.

None of us came from as high as He did

And none of us can imagine going so low.

Can it be so,

that when you are weak you are strong?

But when you think you are strong

you are heading for a fall?

If Jesus said it

I guess it’s true

but it’s baffling to me.

Can it really be true

that now, as I feel so weak

so worn out, so drained, so empty,

past the end of myself;

can it be so

that right now

His strength is made perfect in me?

Doesn’t feel like it.

Feels pretty uncomfortable to be honest.

I’d rather be strong,

and have plenty of myself left to give.

But now, as I feel I have nothing to offer

now my dependence on Him is real,

and so anything I give

must be directly from Him

so He gets the glory, not me.

And as I am held and vulnerable

He comes through for me

and I can see it more clearly.

And so

maybe it is so

that up is down

and down is up.

Maybe I don’t need to fight it

or figure it out

but embrace the crazyness

and accept the radical challenge

of this inside out

upside down

topsy turvey

place where He is king.

“Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve and to give his life as a random for many.” Mark 10:42-45
 
“My Grace is sufficient for you for my power is made perfect in weakness” 2 Corinthians 12:9. 
 
All poems and original writing on this blog are Copyright © Hilary Murdoch 2013
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

