Teach me

Standard

TAOLife-C_S_-Lewis-Humility-is-not-thinking-less-of-yourself-but-thinking-of-yourself-less_

When I think I’m right

Teach me humility

When I look for the applause of others

Teach me humility

When I think it’s down to me

Teach me humility

When I find my significance in what I do

Teach me humility

When I’m living by my own strength

Teach me humility

Teach me to listen to others before I speak

Teach me to hear the unconditional applause of heaven

Teach me to know it’s down to you

Teach me to draw attention to you, not to myself

Teach me to be secure in who I am, in you

Give me courage to serve anonymously

Courage to forgive

Courage to trust

Courage to disregard the opinions of others

Courage to be secure in who I am, with nothing to prove

Courage to live in the fullness of who I am

And yet have the courage to lay that down for others.

Truly without you I’m nothing

And yet in you I have everything.

All poems and original writing on this blog are Copyright © Hilary Murdoch 2013 All rights reserved.
2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Teach Me If You Can « Upgrade 2 the Next Level

Leave a Reply

