Welcome Home

Standard

[Illustration from the story I wrote about my journey of coming to Cape Town, which you can read here]

So touched

by the enthusiastic welcome

home to Cape Town.

A joyful time away.

Precious connections

with dear friends and family.

Treasured moments.

But now I’m back.

Nice to be missed,

to know you leave a gap

and to return to fill it again.

Strong warm hugs,

Bouncy excitement,

Genuinely glad to have me back.

The most moving

was the tearful welcome

of my dear friends

who live on the streets

near my home.

Two women particularly.

They tell me they missed me.

They tell me they love me.

The mention things they remember:

When I visited them in hospital

Or joined them on the curb

to do a crossword together

in the winter sun.

I’m so humbled

that such simple acts of kindness,

of friendship,

touch them so deeply

and make a difference to their life,

to their hearts.

My heart is full.

So glad to be home.

Comments are closed.