Standard

REally loving this blog – thoughts on building friendships with those from different backgrounds and cultures.

love is what you do

The weather changed quickly like it does here in Texas, got cold on a dime, finally felt like fall. There is a party atmosphere at the apartment complex; children whooping and running and yelling at each other in Spanish and Burmese and Arabic. I wish I had brought my girls with me, especially when I get to the top of the stairs, where Lu is conducting art class for a handful of kids who color diligently with markers. She’s the big sister of many of them. I tell her she should be a teacher when she grows up, she’s so good with kids. “Maybe,” she says, ever-worried about being rude. “Probably an artist.”

Her baby sister pops her head up, a red streak of marker down her cheek, “I’m going to be a doctor.” I bet she will. She’s a firecracker, that one.

I knock on the door, slip off my…

View original post 939 more words

Leave a Reply

